About The East Asia Summit


The East Asia Summit (EAS) process was initiated in 2005 with the convening of the 1st East Asia Summit in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. At its inception, the East Asia Summit comprised 16 participating countries, namely ASEAN Member States, Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, and the Republic of Korea. The United States and Russian Federation joined at the 6th East Asia Summit in Bali, Indonesia on 19 November 2011.

The East Asia Summit refers to the Meeting of Heads of States/Governments of the EAS participating countries which is convened annually.

Objectives and Principles

The East Asia Summit’s objectives and principles are outlined in its basic documents, including the 2005 Kuala Lumpur Declaration on the East Asia Summit, the 2010 Ha Noi Declaration on the Commemoration of the Fifth Anniversary of the East Asia Summit, the 2011 Declaration of the 6th East Asia Summit on the Principles for Mutually Beneficial Relations, the 2015 Kuala Lumpur Declaration on the 10th Anniversary of the East Asia Summit, and the 2020 Ha Noi Declaration on the 15th Anniversary of the EAS. These documents reaffirm the nature of the EAS as a premier Leaders-led forum for dialogue and cooperation on broad strategic, political, and economic issues of common interest and concern with the aim of promoting peace, stability, and economic prosperity in East Asia.

The East Asia Summit has identified six priority areas of cooperation, namely environment and energy, education, finance, global health issues and pandemic diseases, natural disaster management, and ASEAN Connectivity. Plans of Actions have been developed to promote cooperation on these priority areas.

The East Asia Summit also discussed cooperation in other areas and emerging issues such as food security, trade and economics, maritime security and cooperation, and traditional and non-traditional security issues.

Annual Summits

# Date Country Host Host leader Note
15th 14 November 2020  
Viet Nam
Videoconference Prime Minister Nguyễn Xuân Phúc

The Summit was held online due to the COVID-19 pandemic and hosted by Viet Nam, where the Summit was initially scheduled to take place. The Secretary-General of the United Nations and President of the World Bank Group briefed the 15th EAS on global efforts in addressing COVID-19 pandemic and promoting comprehensive recovery.

14th 04 November 2019  
Bangkok Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha

The U.S delegation was headed by the National Security Advisor on behalf of the U.S President.

13th 14 - 15 November 2018  
Central Area Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong

U.S Vice President attended the Summit on behalf of the U.S President.

12th 13 - 14 November 2017  
Pasay President Rodrigo Duterte

The Prime Minister of Canada attended as a guest.

11th 06 - 08 September 2016  
Vientiane Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith The Heads of State/Heads of Government of the Eighteen Countries were participated in the Summit.
10th 21 - 22 November 2015  
Kuala Lumpur Prime Minister Najib Razak The Heads of State/Heads of Government of the Eighteen Countries were participated in the Summit.
9th 12 - 13 November 2014  
Nay Pyi Taw President Thein Sein The Heads of State/Heads of Government of the Eighteen Countries were participated in the Summit.
8th 09 - 10 October 2013  
Bandar Seri Begawan Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah

Russian President Vladimir Putin did not attend and was represented by Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov. US President Barack Obama did not attend due to the United States federal government shutdown of 2013 and was represented by Secretary of State John Kerry. The other members' leaders attended.

7th 19 - 20 November 2012  
Phnom Penh Prime Minister Hun Sen

The ongoing tensions arising from the territorial disputes in the South China Sea and East China Sea overshadowed the effort to advance the trade and economic arrangements between members of the Summit.

6th 18 - 19 November 2011  
Bali President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono

The United States and Russia joined the Summit.

5th 30 October 2010  
Hanoi President Nguyễn Minh Triết

The United States Secretary of State and the Foreign Minister of Russia attended. The United States and Russia to join the Summit at the Sixth EAS.

4th 25 October 2009  
Cha-am & Hua Hin Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva

Thailand was initially to host the Summit. It was announced in late October 2008 that the Summit would be shifted from Bangkok to Chiang Mai due to concerns about political unrest in Bangkok.

3rd 21 November 2007  
Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong

Singapore Declaration on Climate Change, Energy and the Environment
Agreed to establish Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia

2nd 15 February 1907  
Mandaue President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo Rescheduled from 13 December 2006.
Cebu Declaration on East Asian Energy Security
1st 14 December 2005  
Kuala Lumpur Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi

President of Russia attended as guest.